My Top 5 Animes (cont.)

*waves* Hello again, welcome back to my top 5 animes!

I’m sorry I split it up, but I just don’t think you want to read a ton of rambling at once.

Well, let’s see, we left off on number two: Fullmetal Alchemist.

This shouldn’t surprise anybody that this anime made my list.  Even though this is only my second post, and you hardly know me, it’s safe to say most anime fans have watched at least one of the Fullmetal Alchemist series. And since it’s so insanelyFMA popular, I won’t include a summary.  You can find one easily just by searching the title.  Heck, Fullmetal Alchemist: Brotherhood is the number one anime on myanimelist.net (at the time I wrote this).  That’s INSANE.  I mean, when I first started watching anime, I had no interest in either Fullmetal Alchemist animes. They didn’t appeal to me.  Fortunately, I came to my senses and started watching the original one.  I fell in love with it immediately.  I remember watching the first two episodes in the living room two years ago (I got into anime around this time).  Then the next day I watched the next six without stopping.  It was one of my first animes, and I have very fond memories of watching it.

Now, I know what you’re saying, “But the original SUCKS.”  Well, I still kinda like it.  It may be because it was the first one I watched, but I’ll tell you, it only sucks when you get to the end.  The rest of the story is pretty solid, but once you get to the last couple episodes, it kind of gets confusing, and downright frustrating.  I won’t get into details in case you haven’t watched it, but the last ten minutes of the show make you want to throw something across the room.

Brotherhood, on the other hand, has a satisfying ending.  I found myself watching the last episode over and over again once I finished it.  It made me so happy, and I didn’t feel that emptiness like I did when I finished the original (if you watched it, you know exactly what I’m talking about).  Brotherhood did a lot of things better than the original, but there were still a few details I liked about the original more.  Some things were explained better, or just made more sense.

I didn’t mean to debate the two series, sorry about that.  In the end, I think the idea is awesome, and the characters are just amazing.  And, yes, Edward is my favorite.  Cliche, yes, but he’s just so endearing and realistic.  And freaking tough.  Winry is awesome as well (see why in my last post), though most people don’t pay as much attention to her.  And I think her and Ed are just adorable (I won’t get into that right now).  Alphonse is so sweet and I want to be his friend so badly.  I also want to give him a giant hug, since I feel he kind of needs it.

Sorry again for getting off-track.  Bottom-line: Fullmetal Alchemist is amazing.  Now, onto my number one!

Alright.  So, Ouran High School Host Club. The reason I did this list backwards is because I knew this would be longer than the rest of the animes.  I saved the best for last.

This was my very first anime I ever completed.  Me and my friends would watch a few episodes every OHSHCtime we saw each other about three years ago.  I finished the show probably half a year after this.  I have no idea why I became so attached to this show and its characters, I mean, honestly, it’s the most out-there concept for a shoujo ever.  But I’ve watched every episode at least three times.  And I’ve read every single manga, and I own them all.  I have too much merchandise and I own the Ouran male uniform.  It’s scary, trust me, I know.  I’m told this constantly, but I love it so much.

It’s so quirky and stupid, and it will make me smile even on my worst days.  I definitely wouldn’t recommend it to EVERYONE, but most people who watch the whole thing end up loving it.  Basically, it’s either you love the show or you hate the show, there’s no in between.  It’s so out-there, but you can still manage to understand six rich guys and a cross-dressing girl (for those who haven’t seen it try guessing which one is the girl, shouldn’t be too hard, honestly).

I’ll continue on to favorite characters now.  My favorite is Haruhi, and I cosplayed as her last fall.  If any of you were at Youmacon 2015 (in Detroit, Michigan), you might have seen me.  I was one of about three, not hard to pick out.  I’m not sure why, but I just connect with her so much.  More than Maka even.  One of her biggest problems shown in the show is being able to accept help from the others in the club.  That’s something I struggle with horribly.  If I know I need help, and someone attempts to help me, I immediately shut them down.  It’s awful, I know.  But I never realized I did it until I was at a panel two years ago.  It was an Ouran panel, run by Haruhi’s English voice actor.  She pointed this trait out in her character, and I instantly realized that it was one of my greatest flaws.  Watching the show again, I saw how much it stood out, and I felt a bit angry with myself.  Why did a fictional character have to show me my flaw?  Why couldn’t I figure it out on my own?  But at the same time I felt relieved.  If I could remember that someone in a different country created a character with the same trait as me, maybe I’m not so bad when it comes to that.  Another thing that this show brought to my attention through Haruhi: I’m not open to new experiences.  She’s the same way.  Any time they ask her to come do something new with them, she immediately says no.  She says that she needs to focus on studying and chores.  While studying and chores are important, living life while you are young is also important.  My mom told me this once when I stressed out about a math test last year.  I was struggling on the study guide, and no matter how hard I tried, I just couldn’t figure it out.  She told me, “You’re worried too much about school to be able to do new things.  In the future, you need to be a well-rounded person.  Grades are great and all, but experience is much more important in the long-run” (this isn’t exact, just roughly)  At that moment, I looked over her shoulder, and I saw my Haruhi and Tamaki picture hanging on my wall (yes, I have anime pictures plastered all over my walls).  It made me think a bit about what I was doing and I calmed myself down.  Then I’m pretty sure I watched Ouran after that to make me happy again.

This seems pretty stupid, I know, but honestly this show, indirectly, changed the way I think about things.  Since that time, I have been able to open myself up a bit more.  Not much, but just a bit.

I’m sorry that got so personal, but it’s part of my story.  If anyone else has either issue I do, I hope you can see how to get past it.  Anime shouldn’t be the only source of happiness for anyone, and shouldn’t be the only place to find yourself, but sometimes things just click with you while reading or watching something.  Shows use so many real-life problems that it’s easy to relate to them and realize things you would’ve never seen before.

I promise next week won’t be as deep or personal, and I probably won’t write about Ouran at all for those of you who don’t know about it or hate it.  If you have any suggestions on what I should write about next, feel free to leave a comment.  I love any feedback I can get.  Thank you so much for reading and putting up with my rants.  Bye!

**Also, notice I figured out how to add pictures.  I’m really bad at understanding technology, so bear with me that my last post didn’t have any pictures.  I’m learning, so the blog will be evolving a lot from this point on.**

FMA picture from fmaproblems.tumblr.com

Ouran picture from ouran.wikia.com

3 thoughts on “My Top 5 Animes (cont.)

  1. I love FMA Brotherhood. The ending of FMA( the first one ) ruined it for me, but it’s not the creator’s fault. The anime developers had given it a non-canon ending, for the simple reason that the manga was still on-going when the developers ended it. FMA Brotherhood has the true ending, and since I had read the manga , as well, I could tell FMAB followed the manga closely.

    I can’t say this about Ouran anime, though. If you’ve read the manga, the ending is quite different from the anime’s , and I really did hate the ending of the latter. Why so ? The male MC had sex with his ” fiancée”, perhaps he liked it , and therefore was so quick in getting together with her to go to France and leave everything behind. This didn’t happen in the manga.

    Like

    • I understand the FMA thing, and yeah I didn’t mention it in my post, sorry about that. As for Ouran, I have read all of the manga and I like the manga more, just because the characters are developed much more. The thing about the anime ending, Tamaki did not go to France with his new “fiancee” because he wanted to. It was his grandmother who wanted this for him and he had not say in backing out. I’ve watched the last episodes around 4 times, so I think I’ve analyzed it quite a bit. Though I’m not telling you to like it, I felt I should clear up that misunderstanding.

      Like

      • I loved Ouran the manga, and yes, in both anime and manga , it is the grandma’s wish that he gets engaged. But in the anime that didn’t happen in the manga, the French girl and Tamaki made out during the party, and got out of the room and announced they were engaged….. it seemed there wasn’t any discussion about engagement , just making out, and it quickly convinced Tamaki. In the manga , he had a plan to get out of this situation….. also, in any shoujo story, when a girl is shown taking a bath, that implies something intimate has already happened , and we know he and that girl were alone that time . The fact that he readily agreed to go to France , that would have been the end of Tamaki and Haruhi had Haruhi not voluntarily took off to follow him. My point is, Tamaki readily dumped Haruhi.

        I do love Ouran, but only the manga, because manga Tamaki has integrity.

        Sorry for the different opinion.

        Like

Leave a Reply

