Best Manga I’ve Ever Read

Best Manga I’ve Ever Read

Hello!  I’m starting to get the hang of this, so I have an idea of a schedule now.  Notice, I posted this on a Monday.  Last week it was Sunday, but I’ve decided that Mondays and Fridays will be my update days.  This may change depending on school, homework, and if I get the job I’ve applied to.  I’ll be updating on off-days if anything changes, but I promise I’ll give content to you.

That was just an update for you guys so you aren’t left in the dark about scheduling.

So, I know that this isn’t anime, but I’ll probably be talking about manga a lot as well.  And I seriously need to tell you guys about this manga if you’ve never heard of it, it’s insanely powerful.koe-no-katachi-2

The Japanese title is Koe no Katachi, which translates into A Silent Voice.  You can probably guess what it’s about just by the title.  A deaf person.  Which is correct, but it’s so much more than just that.  The deaf person isn’t even the main character.

This is Shoya Ishida, a third-year in high school.  When he and the deaf person, Shoko Nishimiya, were in elementary school, he bullied her.  At first, it was the whole class picking on her for being different than everyone.  As time went on, the rest of the class stopped and he was tshoyahe only one left picking on her.  Nobody liked him anymore.  He had a group of friends, but they abandoned him.

Shoko never hated him exactly, despite what he did to her.  She tried to be friends with him, but he declined harshly.  He stole her hearing aids and smashed them, causing about $14,000 in damage.  He threw the notebook she spoke with into a fountain.  He threatened her multiple times and started a fight with her.  But yet, she never wanted to bully him in any way.  She helped him when all of his friends began targeting him instead.

Eventually, her mother forced her to transfer to get away from the bullying.  And Shoya became the target.  He realized how horribly he treated her for something she couldn’t help, and endured all of the bullying.  He didn’t have any friends for five years after she transferred.

When the story comes to the present, he is still regretting everything he did to her.  He finds out that she comes to a bridge every Tuesday to feed the fish, and shokohe plans to come to her and apologize for it all, then leave and kill himself.  Fortunately, things go better than he plans and he becomes friends with her.

The story after this is him learning how to be friends with her and slowly gains more people he can trust.  There are multiple bumps in the road and he says rash things to his friends.  His friends aren’t exactly accepting of Shoko, so that’s another problem that appears multiple times throughout the story.  There is one girl in particular that I never liked but was accepted in the group anyway.  She really didn’t like either Shoya or Shoko at any point, and attacks Shoko at one point.  She’s one of my least favorite characters ever.

Basically, the story is amazing.  It’s quite realistic and sad at a lot of times.  Seeing the two main characters gain friendship is the most amazing thing, since the beginning was rough.  It’s definitely a feels-filled manga, I cried probably three or four times.  And like I’ve said, it’s very realistic, so if that’s not your thing, you don’t need to read it.  But I seriously recommend it to everyone.  You need to experience it.

Bullying is such a huge problem.  And people with disabilities are very common, and I feel they don’t get treated the way they should.  Shoko represents every kind person who has a hard time making friends.  She reminds me of my brother a lot.  He shows extreme kindness to absolutely everyone, but for some reason most people brush him off and ignore him.  He doesn’t have any disabilities, but normal people experience the same thing.  And some people with disabilities don’t have this problem.

So please, give it a chance, and if you’ve already read it, please tell me about your experience with it.

For those of you who don’t exactly like reading mangas, good news for you.  The movie version of the manga series is coming out on September 17, this year.  In only five days.  I don’t know where you could watch it, but if you get the chance, please watch it or even read it.  I know I’ll be searching for the subbed movie when it comes out.

For the pictures I used, the banner was the first cover for the manga, featuring them as elementary schoolers, and the others were from the new movie coming out.  I’ll put a panel from the the second manga down below.

That’s all I have for today.  If you want to tell me how you felt about the manga or if you have any other feedback, I’d love to hear about it.

cute

Chapter 6

 

I’ll probably post on Friday, to give me enough time for school, homework, and deciding on my next topic.  This will probably be the set schedule, but like I said, it may change, and I’ll tell you if it does.

Bye!

Koe no Katachi was written by Yoshitoki Oima and the movie is done by Kyoto Animation.

Pictures in order:

Banner: capsulecomputers.com.au

Movie poster: otakutale.com

Both character profiles: myanimelist.com

Manga page: moonlightmanga.files.wordpress.com

10 thoughts on “Best Manga I’ve Ever Read

  1. OMG!! I LOVED this manga too! 😁 A very emotional ride that I seriously enjoyed being on. I’ve been planning on reviewing it in a few weeks or so too. It seriously is one of the best *stories* out there, let alone manga and it really struck an emotional cord in me.

    Like

    • I was hoping someone else would love it as much as me 🙂 I loved it so much that even though I read it online, I’m working on buying all of the paperback versions. Also I’m hoping that the movie comes over to America so I can watch it

      Liked by 1 person

      • Same here! I wasn’t sure about it at first but decided to check it out anyway cuz of it’s high ratings on MAL. BEST DECISION EVER! I actually devoured it all online in one sitting. I’m just waiting till I’ve finished buying each physical copy So I can reread it then write a review. I can’t wait to see the movie too!!

        Like

  2. Pingback: Commemoration for 50 followers and 500 views! – Manga Toritsukareru Koto

Leave a Reply

