Review: Fruits Basket

Review: Fruits Basket

I am genuinely sorry about the long, long wait.  I started working last Wednesday, and everything has been hectic since then.  I may need to cut the updates down to either once a week or once every other week just because of how busy I am and my lack of time.  But hopefully, I’ll have a cool post next week, since over the weekend I’m cosplaying at my local convention.

Just so you are aware, I’m writing this on a time limit.  I have about 45 minutes to complete this before I leave school and then I have a ton of stuff to do at home.

So, let’s see how this goes.

I chose to talk about this anime in particular because I have memories about it.  About 4 years ago, my friends came over to my house for a sleepover.  My friend had just started watching anime, and she knew one that we would enjoy watching.  It was on Netflix at the time, and I was kind of wary, since my parents had no idea that we would be watching anime.

But, we watched about three episodes and then my mom came in the room.  She watched

yuki

Yuki Sohma

an entire episode with us and determined that whoever thought of it was high.  (She still thinks this and I don’t understand why)  Anyway, my dad also came upstairs and his literal words were, “Is this a ‘pretty boy’ anime?”  For those of you who don’t know the characters, Yuki was the one on screen, and here’s what he looks like.  It was a pretty safe guess on my dad’s part.

During that night we watched eight episodes.  And in the morning, we watched more and my brothers were in the room.  They loved it.  At the time, they were probably about 7 and 9 years old.

Not only was this show one of my first animes, but I have a very vivid memory of when I first watched it.

Onto the actually show itself, not my sentimental memories of it.

This show aired in Japan in 2001, and is now considered a classic according to Funimation’s website.  It’s very likely that you’ve never heard of it, I probably never would have if it weren’t for that day 4 years ago.

screenshot-119

Screenshot I took

At this point, I’ve watched every episode around three times, and I’ve read the manga all the way through once, along with reading some chapters multiple times.

Now, you may be asking why I didn’t put this on my My Top 5 Animes list, but I did that based on how often I revisit that show.  I also thought of putting this on my Top 5 Comedy Animes list, but I think there’s a better list for this show.

The show is very funny, but it’s probably equally sad, and character driven.

I’ll give a basic summary, since I’m sure some of you have never seen this show or even heard of it.  But at the time I’m writing this, I have about 15 minutes to complete this post.

Tohru Honda (the girl in the photo), was recently orphaned when her mom died in a car accident.  Since then, she lived with her grandfather, until the house needed work done on it.  She began living in a tent in the woods by herself.  One day, she found a house and was greeted by Yuki Sohma, the prince of her high school.  They walked to school, and she began to talk to him.  Later, as she emerged from her tent, him and his cousin find her and offer to let her stay at their house.  She starts living with them and finds out that their family has a curse placed on them.  She has to swear to never tell anyone else about this, since they are all ashamed by it.

As she lives with them for longer, she meets more members of the Sohma family and she discovers how strange of a family they are, not just because of their curse.

I know this doesn’t give a whole lot of information, but I don’t want to spoil much.  I’d rather you be surprised by what the curse is and everything, though by looking at the banner photo, you might be able to figure it out.

Oh, before I leave this, there’s a new manga the author started recently that picks up probably about 20 years after the manga completed.  Though, don’t read it if you haven’t read the manga, you’d be helplessly lost, there are a lot of new characters in the manga that aren’t in show.

The manga is Fruits Basket: Another, written by Natsuki Takaya, same mangaka as the

fba

Fruits Basket: Another cover

original Fruits Basket.  I’ve only read the first eight chapters but it’s decent, and makes me pretty happy since I loved the manga more than the show.  I shouldn’t say much more, since even the premise kind of spoils the original manga.  Anyway, just read the original, then the new series.  It’s all great, hope you enjoy it.

I’ve got about 5 minutes now, so I’ll update my new post asap, and I hope you enjoy this one.  Sorry about the entirely too long wait, I promise I’ll say if stuff changes.  For now, enjoy what I’ve put up.  Next post should be cool.  It’ll include pictures of my cosplay making process, plus hopefully some of my full cosplay.  Bye!

*I’m cosplaying as Maka Albarn from Soul Eater in case you didn’t know. :)*

2 thoughts on “Review: Fruits Basket

  1. Pingback: Top 5 Underrated Anime – Let's Talk Anime

  2. Pingback: [OWLS Blog Tour] Self-image in Fruits Basket | Let's Talk Anime

Leave a Reply

