Maka Cosplay

Maka Cosplay

On Saturday, October 1st, I went to the comic con in my city.  It’s a pretty small convention but my dad has a table at it every year, so I help him out.  And every year, it grows quite a lot.  I decided that I would wear my Maka Albarn cosplay to it so I could practice wearing it for the anime convention I attend.

I began working on it in July, and I finished it on September 30th, the day before I needed it.  (I’m a bit of a procrastinator, so it was difficult to make myself complete it.)

In all, it came together pretty well, and I got a TON of comments on it, my scythe especially. (thank you Soul for being awesome)maka-reference

Before you get to see the finished piece, I’ll show my beginnings and some of the process on completing it.  As well as the materials I used.  This is kind of like a simplified tutorial, since I got a lot of ideas from other tutorials.

I have a reference photo of Maka here so you can compare if you want to or if you’re not familiar with her.

Clothing Materials

  • White vest (thin sweater material)
  • Red plaid school skirt
  • White button-up long sleeved dress shirt
  • Green & white striped tie
  • Clunky heeled ankle boots
  • Button-up black dress

Craft Materials

  • White craft foam
  • Thick poster board
  • Air-dry clay
  • PVC piping (1/2″ and 1 1/2″)
  • Black leather dye
  • Yellow RIT fabric dye
  • Silver acrylic paint
  • Red acrylic paint
  • Black acrylic paint
  • White acrylic paint
  • Mod Podge
  • Velcro
  • Silver spray paint
  • Sealant spray
  • Masking tape
  • Hot glue
  • Super glue
  • Scissors
  • Pencil
  • Straight-edge
  • Red permanent marker
  • Black permanent marker
  • Staples
  • Clear elastic hair ties (not really craft material)

Gathering the Materials

Here are the boots I used and the vest I used, neither looked like this when I bought them.

20160724_224239

20160724_224304

The vest was white when I bought it, and it had strings coming out of the sleeves.  To fix this, I pulled the strings out as far as I could and cut them, and then I used yellow fabric dye to make the vest look pale yellow.  This isn’t a good picture, but my room lighting sucks, so we’ll have to make due.  As for the boots, they were brown when I bought them.  I got black leather shoe dye and brushed that over them, let them dry, and rubbed them with a soft cloth.

20160823_194910

Here’s the rest of the clothing for her basic school uniform.  The white shirt I got from my previous Haruhi Fujioka cosplay, and was a little difficult to work with since it is a men’s shirt.  But hey, I didn’t need to buy a new one.  The skirt and tie I found on Ebay, since it’s apparently impossible to find a plaid school skirt and green and white striped tie around where I live.  Again, this isn’t the best picture, but it was either this or an awful selfie in the middle of my disaster of a room.


**I’m sorry this middle part is awkwardly here.  It was the only way to fit both pictures here.**

 

 

 

20160823_195605

These are the pieces I used for the scythe, which was a piece of thick poster board cut into the blade shape. (I don’t have recommendations on how to cut it, since my dad cut it at work for me.) And two sizes of PVC piping, one 1/2″ in diameter and the other 1 1/2″ in diameter.  The thinner pipe was cut where I hold it and a coupling was put in between to make a small handle.  The other was cut to be about 6″ long for the top by the blade.  Each were spray painted silver and soon I will be sealing them to prevent the paint from chipping off while I’m holding it.

The Scythe-making Process

20160929_13122220160929_22221920160930_203939

After the blade was cut, the next step was to paint it.  I used masking tape, a pencil, scissors, and a straight-edge (also known as a hardcover book) to outline the zigzags.  I started with painting the bottom, so the masking tape is lined up for painting the bottom

 

I used red first, so I didn’t accidentally paint black on the bottom.  But, once the red was done, I couldn’t exactly tape the red without peeling the red paint, so I carefully outlined the black lines with a thin brush, and then filled everything else in with a larger brush.

 

Here’s the scythe almost fully assembled.  All that’s left is to make Soul’s lovely eye.  Unfortunately, I don’t have any pictures of the process before I finished it and put it on the scythe.  Basically, I used the air-dry clay to make ovals, and used the top pipe to mold it to fit around.  Then I waited for them to dry, and my dad sanded them down before I filled in the iris and pupil.  I used black and red Sharpie to make the designs, since it gave me more control of the circular edges.  Then they were attached using super glue and I traced them with more black Sharpie for the little lines at the top and bottom.

Oh, and for the little thing on the back, I used the left-over poster board from the blade and drew the shape with a pencil, and my dad cut it out, and I sprayed it down with silver spray paint.

The screw at the top is another type of piping thing, I think it’s a cap for 1 1/2″ piping.  And the way I attached the top to the bottom pipe is by more piping stuff that I honestly don’t know the name for.  The way we put the blade together is by cutting slots in the blade, back piece, and the pipe at the top.  All were slid in and the screw put on top to hold it all together.  I’m supposed to spray the silver parts down again to make them stick better, but the pipes are held together with some super glue.

The Boot-making Process

Next, the boots.  I actually finished these in August, and the scythe in September, but this is just how I put the pictures in.
20160801_20142920160810_212648

This is a picture of the giant straps she has on the top of each boot.  I made these using craft foam, silver acrylic paint, scissors, a pencil, a paintbrush, and glue.  I cut the long strips, and then used a pencil to poke the holes, and then grabbed a paintbrush to make the holes cleaner.  Then I cut small rectangles, cut the inside into a buckle shape, and then painted them silver.  I pushed them through the strips and secured them using glue.

I then secured Velcro to the ends of the strips so I could take the straps on and off without ripping them off of the boots.  The top ones, I glued the backs of them to the boots.

For the bottom of the boots, I used white acrylic paint and Mod Podge.  I mixed the paint and Mod Podge, put three layers down, and then a layer of just Mod Podge.

For the other white strips, I did the fronts one first, and secured them with hot glue.  Then I did the ones behind those, the ones in front of the ankle.  I took the next ones and used something circular to mark where the black dots would go.  Then I used black acrylic paint to fill them in.

Though, I wouldn’t suggest the hot glue for securing anything.  Before I even made it through the convention doors, the front strips were falling off, so I used duct tape for a temporary fix.

Final Product

20161001_133153

me

 

 

And here are some pictures taken at the convention by my amazing aunt.  And yes, I am posing with a Kaneki cosplayer.  They really liked my cosplay and theirs was so cool, that I decided why not take a picture with them.  I don’t know their name or anything, so they don’t know they’re on my website, but oh well, it’s my favorite picture I’ve had of my cosplay.

And woo!  Face reveal!  I know you didn’t ask for one, but I really don’t care anyway, so there you go.

I hope you enjoyed this little tutorial, it turned out a little more in-depth than I thought it would be, but I hope it wasn’t too boring.

Also, I didn’t include the coat instructions since it isn’t done yet.  But what I did here was take a button-down dress and add some staples to the bottom to make it come out naturally.  I’ll be sewing it soon, adding silver buttons, and white cuffs to make it complete.  And then I’ll get some white gloves.

Tell me how you liked this in the comments, and I’ll post next Friday hopefully.

Bye!

Also, I made a Twitter account just for  my blog, follow me there for more content!

@letstalkanime1

5 thoughts on “Maka Cosplay

  1. Pingback: Princess Mononoke Cosplay | Let's Talk Anime

  2. Pingback: Top 10 Anime Openings | Let's Talk Anime

Leave a Reply

