Top 5 Underrated Anime

Top 5 Underrated Anime

 

We all have a show or movie we love that has almost no recognition.  We want others to know how much we love that show, despite it being so unrecognized.  I know I’ve talked about some animes you’ve never heard of, and here are a few more that I really enjoy but have little to no recognition.

These are five animes that I really enjoy, but not many people know of.  Three of them I heard of from other people, but the other two I found on my own.

  1. Snow White with the Red Hair
  2. Death Parade
  3. Love, Chunibyo, and Other Delusions!
  4. Fruits Basket
  5. Hyouka

 

  1. Snow White with the Red Hair (Japanese title: Akagami no Shirayuki-hime)

(The picture of this one is the banner)

To start off: I love this show.  I’m a big fan of fairy tales, and Medieval times, so when I heard of this show, I immediately was drawn to it.  And, I’m not a HUGE fan of the Snow White story, so I was excited what this show would come up with.

The basis of the show is that a girl named Shirayuki (Japanese name for Snow White) works in her town as an herbalist with her grandparents (I think).  She is known for having bright red hair, like an apple.  When the prince of her kingdom hears of this girl’s strange hair, he wants it for himself, and requests that she becomes his concubine.  Upon hearing this, she cuts her hair and flees to the neighboring kingdom.  While in the forest, she meets a stranger, named Zen, who becomes injured.  She offers to heal him, and they team up.  Later, he protects her from the poisoned apple that the prince tried to feed her, and they gain each other’s trust.  She begins living in this new kingdom to escape the prince after her hair.

So, it hardly has aspects of Snow White.  Yeah, the poison apple, but beside that, she’s very different from the traditional princess.  Honestly, seeing as she continuously is wanted for her hair, it reminds me more of Rapunzel from the Disney movie, Tangled.

But, the story has quite a bit of swordfighting, there are many emotional scenes, and a lot of comedic moments.  I watched most of it in two days, and I watched it dubbed, which has an amazing voice cast, by the way.  I compared it to the subbed and I think they picked the actors very well based on that.  Brina Palencia plays Shirayuki, and Josh Grelle plays Zen, along with some other well-known dubbing actors such as Todd Haberkorn and Jamie Marchi.  So, if you’re into dubbed anime, I suggest watching it this way.

2. Death Parade

death-parade

This is a pretty short anime, and again has a pretty decent dubbing cast, and Jamie Marchi plays one of the main characters (the girl on the right).

Though, I don’t want to talk about the dub cast as much this time.

This show has the concept of all dead people going to a judgement place before going to either Heaven or Hell.  In this show, they are forced to play one of a variety of torturous games.  The idea is to bring out the true character of the players and determine which will go where.  They can’t both go to one, and they can’t remain in the judgement area.

Each episode focuses on a game, and in some, it’s pretty clear as to where each person will go.  But with others, it’s difficult to decide, if both have awful characters or have a true heart.  So, some episodes are a bit painful to watch.  You get to learn little bits about many people’s lives, but they don’t stay for more than one episode, usually.

As for characters: the main character is Decim (the guy in the middle), the arbitrator who decides each person’s fate and runs the games.  He has no emotions, so he can’t be biased against one person.  The other main character, she doesn’t have a name, but she is actually a human who has died and is stuck in the world between Earth and beyond (girl on the right).  Decim couldn’t determine which place she should go, so she stays with him and watches over the games as well, helping him with the decisions.

I like both characters, and for having no emotions, Decim is pretty cool.

On to the next show!

3. Love, Chunibyo, and Other Delusions!

lcod

This is a romance, somewhat.  But it’s also an interesting concept.  When I first watched it, I fell in love with it pretty quickly.

The story focuses around Yuuta Togashi, as he meets a strange girl named Rikka Takanashi (pictured above).  She is someone who believes in having a “magic eye” and imagines fighting sequences in her head as she “battles” other people.  This would seem strange to him, but he happens to be someone who used to practice this as well.  They call this hobby “Eighth-grade syndrome” or “Chunibyo.”  Though he knows about this, he grew out of it as he entered high school, while Rikka did not.

Think of this a little bit like The Melancholy of Haruhi Suzumiya, except with a lot more romance.  Rikka creates a club, which Yuuta ends up joining, along with a couple of other people at her high school.  Like in Haruhi Suzumiya, they run into different scenarios and have to work through them.  But, the love story is kind of cute, and there are some great characters as well as development.

4. Fruits Basket

fb

I know, I know, I did a review of this already.  But I got almost no feedback on that, so I feel I need to talk about it again.  Even though I’ll explain some of it here, please read my review on it here:Review: Fruits Basket.

So here are the characters from left to right: Kyo Sohma, Tohru Honda, Yuki Sohma, Shigure Sohma, Saki Hanajima, and Arisa Uotani.

The main characters are Tohru, Kyo, and Yuki.  I didn’t talk about Kyo at all in my review, which is strange since he’s my favorite character.  But I like Tohru and Yuki as well, don’t get me wrong.

Anyway, the reason I really like this show is because of the characters.  They are diverse in their personalities and their character design, which I entirely respect.  There are so many characters that are introduced, and to have them all be so different is very impressive.

And, for being an old show, the art is pretty decent.  I had a feeling it was older when I watched it, but I didn’t expect it to be as old as it is.  I think it’s that way with a lot of older anime (as in 10 years old+).  The only way you can really tell if an anime is old is by the water color, hair, and the way the girls’ mouths look when they laugh.

Don’t know what I’m talking about?  Here are your examples:

And that’s about all I have for Fruits Basket, so on to the final anime!

5. Hyouka

hyouka

You see that guy in the middle there?  That’s Oreki Houtarou, and he is the essence of every lazy person out there.  But yet, he’s incredibly smart and can solve problems very quickly.

This show is categorized as a school-life mystery anime.  Though I had trouble following the main mystery that takes up the first seven or so episodes, I still enjoyed the show.  (The subtitles went too fast and I didn’t feel like backtracking to keep up)  The other mysteries vary from finding earrings at a pool to identifying the guilty one in a film some classmates made.  And some episodes barely have a mystery in them at all.

It’s a casual watch unless you want to be quicker than the characters at figuring their problem out.  It has a pretty decent soundtrack and interesting characters to keep you engaged.  The ending was a bit disappointing, but nothing I got truly angry at, so you can rest easy.

The relationships built up in this sweet little mystery show are pretty complex.  There’s one episode that’s quite dramatic dealing with two of the characters, and I remember getting really into it.  And, Oreki, at the start of the show, wants nothing to do with anything.  By the end, he’s happy to be a part of his group of friends and seems to enjoy himself a lot more.

So, bottomline, if you like quick mysteries and school-life animes, you’d probably like this.  Or even if you’re not really into one of those, you should still give it a shot.

 

Ah, so I finally posted, huh?  I know it’s been a while, but I’ve been busy, as I’ve stated several times before.  Fridays will be my goal update day, but if it’s late all that means is I had other stuff going on, so there’s no need to worry.

I hope you enjoyed this, bye!

Oh, and I’d greatly appreciate if you’d follow my new Twitter : @letstalkanime1

*I’ve discovered that there are at least three other inactive blogs with the same name as me, so I can’t change my website name to my blog name, so I need some suggestions.  Feel free to leave a comment down below.  letstalkanime.wordpress, letstalkanimeweb.wordpress, and letstalkanimeblog.wordpress are both taken.*

Pictures:

Banner: behindthevoiceactors.com

Death Parade: millennialeye.files.wordpress.com

Love, Chunibyo, and Other Delusions!: http://img1.ak.crunchyroll.com/

Fruits Basket:static.hummingbird.me

Hyouka: a2ua.com

Water gif: 66.media.tumblr.com

Anime laugh: http://static.tvtropes.org/

Anime hair change: MyAnimeList.net

3 thoughts on “Top 5 Underrated Anime

  1. Looking at this post again reminds me I still have to watch the second season of Chunibyo, as well as check out Hyouka (I’ve seen and loved all the others!).

    Also, umm, not sure where else to mention this but I’ve nominated you for The Blogger Recognition Award! I know you may be really busy so it’s okay if you don’t have the time to participate, but if you are interested you can check out the rules in my post here: https://maniacalbookunicorn.wordpress.com/2016/12/05/the-blogger-recognition-award/

    Like

Leave a Reply

