Review: Durarara!

Review: Durarara!

This is the show I am almost finished watching, and though I don’t have the conclusion yet, I’ve decided to talk a bit about it.  (I’m 2 episodes away from finishing it, don’t yell at me)

Now, I’ve heard about this show.  A LOT.  Mainly just from the fandom, so I saw pictures of characters and such.  I didn’t think too much of the show because I had literally no idea what it was about.  Then my friend watched some of it, explained a bit to me, and I was intrigued.  But it wasn’t until a year later that I started watching it.  And I have to say, I’m impressed.

This is really a “Don’t judge a book by its cover” kind of show.  The title tells you nothing, and even the description doesn’t do it justice.  Let me show you what Netflix says about it, “A young man looking for excitement moves to Ikebukuro, a district in Tokyo, where he finds a world of mystery in which the past and present mesh.”  That’s directly from Netflix, I DID NOT write that.

celty-shizuo

Celty Sturluson and Shizuo Heiwajima

So, yes, all that’s said is true, but it only focuses on one character, Mikado Ryugamine, and I don’t even consider him to be the true main character.  In fact, I don’t think any one character is the main character.  All of the characters in the show have some tie to all of the other characters, which is impressive to achieve.  In my head, I’ve counted 35 characters with names that all have some kind of relation to the main plot.  Some aren’t introduced until the second season (which is split into 3 parts), though.  I won’t focus on season 2 at all so that’s about 15 people I won’t be talking about.

There are 4 stories going on at once, roughly.  Some stories intertwine and separate through the show, so I can’t have a permanent group of people for each.

Basically you have the three high schoolers: Mikado, Masaomi, and Anri.  And then there’s Celty, Shinra, his dad (who kind of jumps in and out), and Shizuo (who’s also part of another story).  Then, I call them the “van group” because they travel in a van: Erika, Walter, Kyohei, and Saburo.  And the last group is Seiji, Namie, Mika, and Izaya, and Shizuo jumps in sometimes.  This isn’t really all of it, since it jumps around so much, but if I were to group them, this would be it for season one.  Season two has probably like 8 groups at least, but it still stays organized enough where I can understand what is going on.

drrr-ending

First ending scrolling picture

The whole thing is so impressive since it started as a light novel series, written by Ryohgo Narita and illustrated by Suzuhito Yasuda.  Two people made this happen.  That’s insane.  Of course, they have to go through publishers who critique their work, but it’s just crazy that they could keep a story like this all organized.  I know there are many popular manga/anime that also have a ton of characters in them, but for how complex the plot is and to remember what each character has to do with it pretty nuts.  I have a hard time remembering the full names of just a few characters and what they have to do.  And some of them I don’t even give them full names.  In this, all 35 or so characters have a first and last name, and I’d say at least 10-15 of them have an online alias, first and last name.  I look up to these people.

Well, enough of my impressed ranting.  I’m sure those of you who don’t know the show would like a little bit of knowledge on what exactly is going on.

Alright.  So, like the Netflix overview said, this is somewhat of a mystery show.  With demons and faeries and gangs.  Which makes it like 10 times cooler.  So, in Ikabukuro, there’s this reputation of something called “color gangs.”  Examples of these are called the “Blue Squares” and “Yellow Scarves.”  Basically, they all wear something of that color so civilians can identify them.  But, Ikabukuro also has a notorious colorless gang called “The Dollars.”  People in the district constantly have to look out for suspicious people in case one of the normal civilians turns out to be a part of The Dollars.

That’s the gang part of it.  Now, for the faeries part.  Well, there’s really only one faery.  Named Celty Sturluson, who is a dullahan.  A dulluhan is an Irish faery who carries around its head and rides a shadow-type horse.  They are all female, and value their horses and heads.  Unfortunately for Celty, her head has been stolen and taken to Ikabukuro.  She rides around the district on a black motorcycle, which neighs like a horse.  She’s known as the “Black Rider” and people don’t know whether to be scared of her or not.

And, for the demons.  This doesn’t come until about halfway through season one, so if you want to skip this part to not spoil it, go on ahead.  I won’t be too specific with anything.

This isn’t like your normal “monster” type of demon.  This one is in the form of a sword, and possesses others into following it.  This becomes a very big problem near the end of the show, but isn’t really the main idea until season two.  This part of the show was really interesting to me, and might’ve been the reason I watched all the way to the end (well, almost the end).

And there you have it.  That’s what I think about Durarara!  Oh, you want to know what my favorite character is and who my least favorite is?

I know you probably weren’t asking, but I do have an answer for both.  One may be a bit shocking to those who like this show.

I’d have to say Celty is my favorite, but it took me a while to decide this.  She just made me laugh, and cry, and I felt deeply for her.  She is pretty lost without that major part of her, and she constantly is attacked while out doing deliveries ( I forgot to mention she delivers things).  Also, I’ve never heard of a dullahan, so I was interested when I heard of it.  I’m very into mythology and fantasy things, so that makes a lot of sense.

And, as for who my least favorite is, it’s actually Izaya.  I know a lot of people like him, but I just never got attached to him.  I never felt sorry for him, and he confused me.  I never knew his intentions and he flip-flops with whose side he’s on, so I could never tell if he was a villain or not.  So, don’t hate me, but I don’t like everyone’s favorite character.

Alright, so that’s the end of my review.  I’m having a bit of a hard time coming up with ideas, so if you have any tweet me or leave a comment.  My twitter is @letstalkanime1.  Oh, and not this upcoming weekend, but the weekend after, I’m going to an anime convention.  I’ll probably make a post about my experiences and maybe have some cool cosplay pictures.  And I’ll be seeing Vic Mignogna with my brother and possibly J. Michael Tatum and Monica Rial, so maybe pictures with them will be here too (all are FUNimation dub voice actors for those subbed fans out there).  But I have no promises.

Bye!

**As of 10/25 I finished this show, and let me tell you, it was quite an ending.**

**If anybody is curious, I generally don’t edit my posts so if you see run-on sentences and things like that, it’s because I like to leave it written how I think.  If that bothers anyone, let me know.  Thanks!**

Featured picture: http://ib.huluim.com/

Celty and Shizuo: http://release-date.info/

Ending picture: http://pre07.deviantart.net/

2 thoughts on “Review: Durarara!

  1. This is one show I just didn’t get into. I tried the first two episodes but it just didn’t interest me and so I moved on. Eventually I plan to get back to it and try again because from all the write ups it does look like something I’d enjoy but I just haven’t got there yet.
    Thanks for sharing.

    Like

    • You’re welcome. You know, I wasn’t really all that into the first couple episodes either, so I understand how you feel. And honestly, the second season is a little better than the first anyway. Anyway thanks for reading. 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

