My Thoughts On: Tokyo Ghoul Manga

My Thoughts On: Tokyo Ghoul Manga

I’m a scaredy cat, I will admit.  I don’t like horror.  I can’t stand the thought of intentionally being scared.  So, why would I try to read a manga that literally has “horror” as the genre on the back?  My best friend of about twelve years loves it, and yeah, she can handle a whole lot more than I can.  But I was reading it over her shoulder one day, and I decided to give it a try.  As of now, I’m on the 42nd chapter, in Volume 5.  This would be nearing the end of season one, I believe.  And before you ask, no, I don’t plan on watching the anime.  I’ve decided that I can handle black and white still drawings better than colored animations.

So, don’t think I’m ignorant or something as I’m talking about it, since I have absolutely no idea how the show varies from the manga except for season two, but I don’t think I’m that far yet.

First thoughts: I’m probably going to cry a lot reading this thing.  When I began reading, I knew that things got a little insane later on in the series, but I just wasn’t thinking about it.  And now, I’m getting further and further in, and it’s getting pretty intense already.  When I began though, I immediately became attached to the main character, which was not a good idea.  I’ve heard a lot about what comes later, and I’m not looking forward to it.

Also, I forget almost everyone’s name.  Except the main reoccurring characters.  So sometimes I have to sit there and figure out who it is.  tg

But that doesn’t reflect on the story at all.  I love the concept.  It’s so interesting, seeing as you don’t know whose side you should be on.  The humans are portrayed as being evil and violent toward the ghouls, and seeing as almost all of the main cast are ghouls, you aren’t even on the humans’ side for the most part.  It’s a weird feeling.  I find myself thinking, “Ah, the humans were behind this!” or “Oh no, the humans are going to kill them!” It’s strange.  But of course, if you’re familiar with the beginning of the series, the main protagonist isn’t entirely either, so that makes it even weirder.

Overall, it’s a really great story so far.  It’s well-done.  I constantly want to know what happens next, and it keeps me on my toes.  I have a hard time predicting what will happen, which is a good sign.  I just wish I wasn’t such a baby about getting scared, or I would watch the show too.  I already know the order of what happens is different in the manga since I compared it to the episode list.  Episode 4 is WAY after some of the other stuff that happens in the manga.

Also, I’m aware this isn’t really a fleshed-out (haha) post but I just felt like sharing some of my feelings on the story since it’s so popular.

I’ll probably have a different post later on this week about Fullmetal Alchemist, which I meant to do on October 3rd in honor of Fullmetal Alchemist Day, but I forgot about it.  But it will be coming soon.  And then after that, it’ll be something about the movie Your Name.  Not saying what exactly because I’m not even sure yet.

Anyway, just wanted to update on what’s to come after my hiatus that wasn’t planned.  Sorry about that.  Just been busy.

Thanks for reading my ramble!

Follow me on Twitter: @letstalkanime1

Both pictures from pixiv.com

4 thoughts on “My Thoughts On: Tokyo Ghoul Manga

Leave a Reply

