My Favorite Anime Couples

My Favorite Anime Couples

I figured that in honor of Valentine’s Day I would share some of my favorite pairings in anime. I understand that this is a somewhat touchy subject for some, if their favorite isn’t on here, or if I ship a character with someone different that what they feel. But I knew I would talk about it at some point, so why not now? Understand that I will not make fun of any person’s pairing preferences, as long as I don’t get any nasty comments. Thank you, we are all fans of the same fanbase. Be nice! ūüôā

Before I begin, I will have to explain that I have a  couple of things that have to be met before I begin to like a couple.

  • Can’t be related
  • Age gap can’t be more than 6 years (some exceptions)
  • Must know each other well before a romantic bond is formed

I feel like these are ¬†fairly reasonable, and I stay true to these through all of my favorite pairings. I know the rules are a little tight for some super shippers, and I understand that. I’m still not going to make fun of it, just understand that this is my opinion.

Also, understand that these aren’t in any particular order, it was just how it ended up. If I was making a top 10 list, some of the ones at the bottom would be near the top.

Haruhi and Tamaki

(Ouran High School Host Club)

tamaharu2

This one’s very bias, I’m aware. But yeah, I’ve also read every one of the mangas, and through that, I¬†will say I definitely ship them. I really like their dynamic, and the obliviousness gets frustrating, but is also endearing. I’m sorry to those who aren’t a fan of them, I can’t resist putting it here. You know my love of this show.

Ed and Winry

(Fullmetal Alchemist)

edwin

I adore Fullmetal Alchemist, and I have a lot of pairings I love in it as well. I actually ended up watching it in the first place because I’d heard about their relationship in it. And they were childhood friends, and that’s a win in my eyes.

Soul and Maka

(Soul Eater)

makasoul2

Okay, they’re partners, and they live together, and they do practically everything together. It’s hard to not think they would be a good pair. And strangely enough, since I cosplayed as Maka, I’ve taken more of a liking to Soul than I had before. I don’t know if that means anything, but it’s pretty weird, haha.

Yato and Hiyori

(Noragami)

yatori

This is one that breaks the age thing, considering Yato is literally 1,000+ years old. He’s a god, and she’s a weird human-phantom thing, so I’m letting it slide. They have a lot of cute moments so I can’t resist.

Ryuuji and Taiga

(Toradora)

toradora

They began their friendship trying to help each other with their crushes, but ended up hanging out with each other more. They’re definitely a strange couple, but they managed to make a great relationship out of the coincidence. I know this show is littered with romance cliches, but I like the way they did some of them.

Victor and  Yuri

(Yuri!!! On ICE)

both

Oh big surprise, right? I think it’s kind of funny that they’re the only gay couple on here, but like I’ve said in my reviews on this show, I’d never really shipped any before. I can count on one hand the others that I like. Sorry to anyone that solely ships those, I’m cool with that, I just never have really, really liked any besides these two. Sorry, guys. And if you want to see my little rant on how much I love them, read my review here.

Kyo and Tohru

(Fruits Basket)

tokyo

This was one of my first animes, and I always liked Kyo with Tohru more than with Yuki, and that still holds true now. It’s been four years since the first time I watched it, but I still have yet to get bored of these two. The manga is also helpful with this. If you haven’t read it, please do, it goes WAY farther than the anime.

Hawkeye and Mustang

(Fullmetal Alchemist)

royai

These two are a freaking power couple. They are both capable of killing a person in a minute or less. And they have a ¬†well-developed relationship, considering they’ve been working together for years, and always have each other’s back, so that’s what I enjoy about them.

Shirayuki and Zen

(Snow White with the Red Hair)

shirayuki-and-zen

I’m a sucker for anything set in medieval/fairy tale settings. And this one is no different. It has Snow White in the title, and so of course I watched it. And these two characters are amazing, on their own and together. I could get into a whole thing about it, but I need to keep it short. I think they complement each other so well, since they’re even better together than separate.

Celty and Shinra

(Durarara!)

celty-and-shinra

Again, the age thing is not really relevant. Celty is immortal, from what I’m aware of, so that’s a thing that I’m going to ignore. But anyway, they have a nice relationship that was pretty cute, so they made it on the list.

(The first picture is of Hori and Miyamura from the manga, Horimiya. It’s super cute I highly suggest it)

I hope you enjoyed this list. Feel free to leave your own favorites in the comments, just don’t be mean. Nothing bothers me more than ship wars in the anime community. We all have our own opinion, and everyone should be respectful of that. Be nice to each other, please!

I only say this because I’ve seen terrible ship wars before in other places, not¬†in the blogging community, but I just wanted to put that out there.

Follow me on Twitter: @letstalkanime1

Pictures:

Tamaki and Haruhi: https://www.walldevil.com/wallpapers/a84/haruhi-fujioka-tamaki-suoh-ouran-high-school-host-club.jpg

Edward and Winry: http://images2.fanpop.com/images/photos/8100000/Canon-Love-edward-elric-and-winry-rockbell-8164847-500-375.jpg

Yato and Hiyori: http://vignette1.wikia.nocookie.net/noragami/images/f/f9/E01_-_Yato_and_Hiyori.png/revision/latest?cb=20140225032802

Ryuuji and Taiga: https://i.ytimg.com/vi/mfrjvh8PjzE/maxresdefault.jpg

Kyo and Tohru: http://1.bp.blogspot.com/-GH-sNaB5NwU/ToCKyK-y-PI/AAAAAAAAAqU/-CcqfNycQRk/s320/ep005_004.jpg

Hawkeye and Mustang: https://secure.static.tumblr.com/2ede69fda7f64ebf553f38983050cfe6/bkjcett/N9snjb6gu/tumblr_static_c7x1b2zzzo08osso4c4kg0cos_640_v2.jpg

Shirayuki  and Zen: https://i.gyazo.com/d815e2a7f77f5f2f7acd549393c2b0a0.png

Celty and Shinra:https://i.ytimg.com/vi/gssEZ3Ivjf8/hqdefault.jpg

Victor and Yuri: fandompost.com

8 thoughts on “My Favorite Anime Couples

Leave a Reply

