My Thoughts On: Seraph of the End (Ep 1-12)

My Thoughts On: Seraph of the End (Ep 1-12)

I’ll say I was a bit disappointed with this show. I heard about it two years ago from a friend but never made any attempt to watch it. Then a few things happened that made me give in. 1) I recognized a few English voice actors 2) I became a bit obsessed with listening to the English cover of the opening by Amalee 3) I looked at how nice the art was. So here we are.

I’m sure if you’ve been reading my posts for a while you’ve noticed that I’m pretty lenient when it comes to anime. I can count pretty easily the number I’ve dropped. While I wouldn’t say this show was awful by any means, it’s just lacking in some important areas.The major thing that disappointed me: lack of likable characters. When starting the show, two of the main characters, Mikaela and Yuichiro, are shown as children. This was fine, and they weren’t annoying to me. They were just kids, and their situation was less than desirable, so anything they said that was annoying was reasonable. Now, halfway through the show,
little bbysYuichiro gets on my nerves quite often. And he’s not supposed to be hated, he’s the main character. Mikaela hasn’t done anything that I would consider annoying, so he’s done fine so far.

The other characters are just not interesting. They are so very flat and boring and I really don’t care whether they live or die. They each have at most two traits that define them, and that’s just poor character building.

The main baddie is done well, but it’s not quite clear why he’s doing what he’s doing. There’s not really a personal drive from what I can see. He’s just doing bad things to do bad things.

Something that annoys me to no end is how pathetically lovestruck two girls are with Yuichiro, when I see no reason they would feel this way about him. They both seem to hate him, since he’s so reckless and lacks in the listening category. But yet they are Screenshot (170)fighting over him, and I just think it’s so stupid. It’s a pointless addition to the show and doesn’t make me want to like it more. There is no development between either of the girls and him that would lead to there being romantic tension. It’s thrown in for drama, and there’s nothing I hate more than romance for no reason. I am very serious about my shipping, so when there’s some pairing thrown in all willy nilly I’m not going to like it.

Alright enough of the negatives, I’ll move onto the positives. This show has very nice art and music, a win from me. And I’ll say I never would have thought I would be watching a vampire show in a million years. I’ve tried my hardest to avoid them.  The way this show goes about the vampire genre is much more interesting and I find myself actually interested. The vampires here are treated as the dystopian government of this world. They control the humans to get the food they need. Some are more brutal and inhumane about the ways they obtain their nourishment. There are various places that kidnap children and raise them in hiding, using them as easy meals.

Another thing I find interesting about this show is that humans use demons to fight. They are not the evil, only the vampires are. The army that is focused on, called “Japan’s Imperial Demon Army” take their new recruits into a special room where they summon demons and make deals with them. This allows the human to possess a demon weapon, and can call on the demon in desperate times. Often times, demons are shown as being evil creatures, but in this case they are only evil if the person trying to make a deal is not strong enough to handle the demon weapon. I found this a fascinating part of the show.

This show is similar to Tokyo Ghoul and Attack on Titan in many ways. Tokyo Ghoul because of how there are different ranking vampires, more tame and kind vampires, fightsome are willing to suck the blood of their own kind, and one character reminds me of Kaneki’s struggle between remaining human as they were and becoming this new monster they were transformed into. Attack on Titan because there are various groups of humans who “hunt” the vampires almost like the military in that show and there are walls around cities.

It makes it a bit easier to watch when I can relate it to something else I like, but it also feels a bit like a copycat. I don’t think that was the intention of the creator, but there are a lot of similarities.

I know I have many more negatives than positives, but really it’s not all that bad. The fight scenes are awesome, there are a lot of well-done visuals, and the writing for the most part is decent. I just wish I liked the main character a bit more and cared more about the other characters. I’ve always felt that the characters are what makes the story. I’ve watched so many shows where I wasn’t a fan of the plot, but adored the characters, so I watched until the end. This show is just the opposite.

Overall, the show is alright. I’ll continue watching it anyway, and I’ll just hope it gets better from here. I’m sorry for such a negative post, but I really thought I would like this show more. I kept wanting to watch it in the beginning, and I thought once I got to a certain point it would be more interesting, but I was wrong.

Anyway, I hope you enjoyed reading this, my next post will be a lot more upbeat I promise. Just had to get this one out of my system. And if you’d like to defend this show, tell me why it’s better than I think it is. I’m curious as to what you have to say.

Follow me on Twitter! @letstalkanime1

4 thoughts on “My Thoughts On: Seraph of the End (Ep 1-12)

  1. Pingback: Top 10 Anime Openings | Let's Talk Anime

  2. Great review! I actually really liked this one, more so for the story line than anything else. I have to agree with you on it feeling similar to other works, the characters (at the main one) and the romance though.

    Yuichiro really got on my nerves as well, so having both girls fall for him made little sense to me too. But for me the story and mystery behind the weapons, army, and vampires took center stage so those things didn’t bother me nearly as much as they probably would have otherwise.

    Though I read the manga (which is of course WAY better), so I’m aware how things were supposed to be and it made me love the story. I’m also just a sucker for vampire stories lol.

    Liked by 1 person

    • I think I’m liking the second half much better, since it feels a bit more focused on the vampires rather than Yuichiro. But I’m only 2 episodes into that, so I’m not sure yet. I definitely am watching it for the plot rather than characters. It’s still a somewhat enjoyable watch.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

